Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Azerbaijan. Please scroll down to view.

The Republic of Azerbaijan is a country located right at the cross roads of Eastern Europe and Western Asia. Azerbaijan celebrates 12 national holidays each year. One of these holidays is five days in length and always occurs during the week so that two weekends can be added to the celebration. A few of the other national holidays celebrated are also multi-day events.

All laws regarding public holidays are regulated under the Labour Code of the Republic of Azerbaijan. Section 5, Division 15, Articles 105 – 109 regulate which days are considered public holidays, how employees are to be treated for these dates, and special conditions.

Article 105 establishes the national holidays celebrated in Azerbaijan. All of these holidays are non-working days. On the multi day celebrations, employees are entitled to at least one day off, except for Novruz, when they are entitled to two days. Article 106 establishes the Day of Mourning as a non-working commemorative day. Sections 107 and 108 establish that employers are required to allow employees off an hour earlier the day before a national holiday.

Article 109 states that all employees who are required to work on a public holiday will be given the choice of another day off or should be paid at double their regular rate. Anyone required to work on the National Day of Mourning must be paid double their hourly wages.

Some of the holidays celebrated in Azerbaijan are celebrated at different times each year. These celebration dates are based on the lunar cycles. The government of Azerbaijan will make an official announcement each year on the public holiday dates. Employers are required to observe these holidays regardless of what tdates they occur.

Cultural and Religious Holidays

There are many different cultures and religions in Azerbaijan. Each of these cultures and belief systems has their own special holidays. The government of Azerbaijan acknowledges that these celebrations take place. However, the government does not recognise these events as public holidays and employers are not required to provide days of or special pay when these celebrations take place.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
3 JanTueNew Year Holiday
4 JanWedNew Year Holiday
20 JanFriMartyrs' Day
8 MarWedInternational Women's Day
20 MarMonPersian New Year / Novruz Holiday
21 MarTuePersian New Year / Novruz Holiday
22 MarWedPersian New Year / Novruz Holiday
23 MarThuPersian New Year / Novruz Holiday
24 MarFriPersian New Year / Novruz Holiday
9 MayTueVictory Day
28 MaySunRepublic Day
29 MayMonRepublic Day Holiday
15 JunThuNational Salvation Day
26 JunMonAzerbaijan Armed Forces Day
26 JunMonRamazan Bayrami
27 JunTueRamazan Bayrami
27 JunTueAzerbaijan Armed Forces Day
1 SepFriGurban Bayrami / Feast of Sacrifice
2 SepSatGurban Bayrami / Feast of Sacrifice
4 SepMonGurban Bayrami / Feast of Sacrifice
9 NovThuFlag Day
31 DecSunInternational Solidarity Day of Azerbaijanis