Start Planning

Georgia Public Holidays 2017

Today – 15 December 2017 – is not a holiday in Georgia.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Georgia. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
7 JanSatOrthodox Christmas Day
19 JanThuOrthodox Epiphany
3 MarFriMother's Day
8 MarWedInternational Women's Day
9 AprSunIndependence Restoration Day
14 AprFriOrthodox Good Friday
15 AprSatOrthodox Easter Saturday
16 AprSunOrthodox Easter Sunday
17 AprMonOrthodox Easter Monday
9 MayTueVictory Day
12 MayFriSaint Andrew the First Called Day
26 MayFriIndependence Day
28 AugMonSaint Mary's Day
14 OctSatSvetitskhovloba
23 NovThuSaint George's Day

Georgia currently celebrates 17 public holidays each year. A majority of the Georgian population are of the Orthodox Christian faith. Because of this, most of their public holidays are based on this religion. The Easter season is one of the longest holiday periods when there are four days in a row considered as national holidays.

Public holidays are regulated by the Labor Code of Georgia, Section Four Article 21. This Article states the dates of the national holidays and requires all employers to provide employees with days off for these dates.

The government of Georgia has reserved the right to declare one-time non-working public holidays for special occasions. This has been used in the past for disaster relief, elections, and commemorative days.