Start Planning

Afghanistan Public Holidays 2017

Today – 21 November 2017 – is not a holiday in Afghanistan.

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays for Afghanistan. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

14 FebTueLiberation Day
21 Mar to 22 MarTue to WedNovruz Holiday
28 AprFriVictory Day
1 MayMonLabour Day
27 MaySatAwal Ramadan
25 Jun to 27 JunSun to TueEid al-Fitr Holiday
19 AugSatIndependence Day
31 AugThuArafat Day
1 Sep to 3 SepFri to SunEid al-Adha Holiday
30 SepSatAshura
30 NovThuMawleed al-Nabi

Afghanistan currently celebrates 11 national holidays. Four of these holidays are on fixed dates each year; all of the other holidays celebrated in Afghanistan are celebrated on dates based on the lunar cycle.

Public holidays are regulated under the 2005 Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Chapter 1, Article 18. The constitution provides all employees a non-working day on any day declared a public holiday by the government. The law also provides the government with the authority to establish one-time commemorative dates or public holidays.

This Chapter of the Constitution also establishes which calendar is used officially by the country and used to determine holiday celebration dates. The official calendar is the Hejrah-e shamshi calendar (very similar to the Persian calendar used in Iran).

Several of the public holidays celebrated in Afghanistan are multiple day events. The government has established that employers must recognise each of these days and provide a day off.

Most viewed Afghanistan holidays today: